Edith Llama

Hello,

It’s been a little bit longer than expected. Exams are finally over (woohoo) and I have trundled home for summer. The last week has mostly been spent unpacking and feeling guilty for not revising. I’ve been revising since March so it’s a hard thing to get used to. I’m praying that I’ve done enough to pass and resits are not awaiting me. But for now I don’t even want to know, they can keep them.

To celebrate our freedom, Llama Supporter and I trundled off in the Sunday sunshine for a walk. We decided to try out the Park Walk which runs from Highgate to Finsbury Park. Unbeknown to us, we picked the best day to walk it as there were youth theatre productions of plays such as The Tempest and Romeo and Juliet along the entire route for us to enjoy. The walk runs along a disused railway line that used to connect Highgate, Crouch End and Finsbury park. It was absolutely packed full of walkers, runners and cyclists enjoying the beautiful June sunshine and the theatre productions.

fullsizeoutput_4c5bfullsizeoutput_4c59IMG_5230IMG_5207

On the way back we decided to take a little detour to Crouch End, to a little place I have been stalking on Instagram. Edith’s House is described as popping over to your Nan’s to enjoy some home cooking. It was quite busy when we arrived as it was just post lunch but luckily it started to empty just before we left so I could get snap happy. As you can see on arrival, it definitely feels like arriving at an elderly relative’s house for an afternoon catch up.

They have all manner of things on the menu which can be found here. They serve amazing cakes with afternoon tea, complete with tea cosy. As well as pudding shakes and many different types and flavours of scones. They also serve breakfast until 4pm (heaven!). I went for scrambled eggs and salmon on sourdough and Llama Supporter went for the build your own breakfast (scroll down to see). You can also hire the venue for parties in the evening and dogs are welcome too! It literally ticks all the boxes! The battery died on my camera and my phone is too full for photos so I had to improvise with Snapchat so forgive the quality!

IMG_5224IMG_5220IMG_5219IMG_5208IMG_5211IMG_5214IMG_5209IMG_5215IMG_5213IMG_5216IMG_5222IMG_5221IMG_5212IMG_5223IMG_5218IMG_5217

If kitsch isn’t your thing then you’ll probably best to avoid the place as it is literally coming out of the walls. But if you’re like me then head on over as it’s even more amazingly retro than I could ever have imagined! I will definitely be coming back here, with a charged camera, Maggot has already demanded I take her too so expect to see more of Edith’s House!

That’s it for this post, I have no immediate plans… one of the best feelings ever! But I will definitely be posting again soon. I’m also working on a little project at the moment which I can’t breath a word about, but if I pull it off then I will be updating you with photos of that too!

Until then, much love

K x

Leave a Reply

